4 Critical Traits of an Entrepreneur


You may be a risk-taker, goal-oriented, and ambitious but only these four traits will help take you to the next level.

That experience taught me that within limits, we make our own rules. All of my experiences have taught me something. So here are some thoughts I developed over the last 12 years.

  • Look for ways to make a difference.
    I saw job descriptions as the “had to do” list not as a limit. Throughout my career I created opportunities. I think that’s a big part of what entrepreneurs do. They identify opportunities and apply themselves, frequently without invitation to do so.
  • Follow that overwhelming desire to take action.
    At one point I used the regular hours of my job to teach as an adjunct professor, which lead to an appointment on the Boards of Retail Advisers. Entrepreneurs seem to have a voracious appetite for learning and teaching. We also feed on multiple tasks or projects, which lead to increased productivity.
  • Exert your influence as much as possible.
    I resigned from one job in frustration over major differences in direction. Within two years they were bankrupt. I saw this as a failure on my part for not influencing the organization. An entrepreneur can go from the trenches to the big picture and assess cause and effect. The protagonist in this story is influence.  Without it we are frustratingly adrift.
  • Help other would-be entrepreneurs.
    It was an entrepreneur that I worked for that saw something in me and gave me a helping hand. He told me I needed to go into business for myself and help struggling companies. Four months later I left and he provided a generous severance to get me started.

Someone once asked me what it was like going out on my own as an entrepreneur. I told them it was like jumping out of an airplane with all the materials needed to build a parachute. An entrepreneur must be willing to take a risk.

Leave a comment